Music and Religion?

As I have stated in my previous post I am a big fan of music, especially rock and heavy metal with a little bit of dubstep in the mix. To me music is much like writing as it tells a story or expresses opinions in a way that is unique and enjoyable for most people. For myself I grew up mainly listening to country music with some 80’s mixed in like Journey or a little AC/DC but never anything to heavy until I found the radio station X96 which at the time was a station for alternative bands such as Green day, Nirvana, and Linkin park.

At this point in time when I found this type of music I believe I was in 6th or 7th grade and was struggling with self esteem issues and bullying due to my weight. When I listened to this type of music it really shocked me at how much I was relating to what these bands were singing about. Looking back on this time in my life I can honestly say that I am very happy I ended up listening to that music when I did because it helped me know that life was going to get better and it sure did.

By the title of this you’re probably wondering what does this have to do with religion? well for your information I am a member of the LDS church, I have been pretty much all my life. Now I don’t want you to think that I am the type of person to shove my religion in your face, I am not like that, I like to hear everyone’s opinions and feelings on issues that come our way, however when it comes to music and being apart of the LDS church its kind of a grey line with me because of the type of music I listen to. In our church they teach you to stay away from anything causing you to have unclean thoughts such as movies, music, and sexual images, well for the most part I stay away from two of these things as my music is seen as an issue when it comes to our religion. I like to think that people call my music “devil music” because a lot of people hear it and immediately assume that the band is singing about devil worship or violence. Honestly when someone (mainly my mother or father) tells me that my music is just screaming or that it’s the devil’s music I just laugh because if you take the time to do some research on the song by looking up the lyrics it shows that the band is singing about worldly issues such as bullying or self appreciation, for instance the song “Beneath the skin” by Memphis May Fire. The song is about bullying and the effects of what words can do to a person, which is something that is threatening our school systems. One of the best lines from the song in my opinion would be “Is our generation to blind to see true beauty lies beneath the skin?……… so ignorant”

I know that my music type isn’t for everyone and i understand and respect these opinions, However please don’t judge me based on my music choice, I choose to listen to heavier music because I like the meaning behind it. When I do come across bands that sing about devil worship I skip them because I do not want to hear that.

The reason behind this is to show that music such as mine isn’t as bad as it seems a lot of the music I listen to has a meaning or message they’re trying to get across to everyone who listens and most of their messages is to bring problems that don’t get spoken a lot about to light and show that even if you’re going through a hard time that you are not alone.

 

 

Leave a Reply

